The History Circle

Facebook
Follow Western Reserve PBS
on Facebook!

 

Tell a Friend!
Membership in the History Circle of Western Reserve PBS is FREE. Call 1-800-554-4549 to join or sign up online.

 

Become a Member of Western Reserve PBS
Quality history programs abound on Western Reserve PBS! Please support our efforts by becoming a member. Call 1-800-554-4549 or join online.

schedule

History Programming • August 2019


 

   

The Farthest—Voyager in Space
Thursday, Aug. 1, at 3 a.m.

American Masters, Ursula K. Le Guin
Friday, Aug. 2, at 9 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 3, at 3 a.m.

Remembering Leonard Nimoy
Friday, Aug. 2, at 10 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 3, at 4 a.m.

Royal Wives at War
Sunday, Aug. 4, at 2 a.m.
Thursday, Aug. 8, at 10 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 9, at 4 a.m.

History Detectives
Sundays at 5 a.m.

Flying Turns: Resurrecting a Legend
Monday, Aug. 5, at 3 a.m.

Streit’s: Matzo and the American Dream
Monday, Aug. 5, at 10 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 6, at 4 a.m.

Soundbreaking: Stories from the Cutting Edge of Recorded Music
Tuesday, Aug. 6, at 8 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 7, at 2 a.m.

American Experience, Woodstock: Three Days that Defined a Generation
Tuesday, Aug. 6, at 9 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 7, at 3 a.m.

Ancient Skies
Wednesday, Aug. 7, at 8 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 8, at 2 a.m.

Ken Burns: The National Parks
Saturday, Aug. 10, at 11:30 a.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 13, at 2 a.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 20, at 11:30 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 25, at noon

Rick Steves Fascism in Europe
Sunday, Aug. 11, at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 13, at 12:30 a.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 21, at 3:30 a.m.

Jackie Robinson
Sunday, Aug. 11, at 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 14, and Thursday, Aug. 15 at midnight
Sunday, Aug. 18, at 2:30 p.m.

Straight from the Heart: Timeless Music from the 60s & 70s
Saturday, Aug. 17, at 5:30 p.m. & 11 p.m.

The O’Jays: Live in New York
Monday, Aug. 19, at 10 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 22, at 1 a.m.
Saturday, Aug. 24, at 9 p.m.

Family Pictures USA
Mondays at 10 p.m. (begins 8/26)
Tuesdays at 4 a.m. (begins 8/27)

Hitler’s England
Thursday, Aug. 29, at 10 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 30, at 4 a.m.

Big Family: The Story of Bluegrass Music
Friday, Aug. 30, at 9 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 31, at 3 a.m.

Artbound
Fridays at 8 p.m.
Saturdays at 4 p.m.

Margaret: The Rebel Princess
Friday, Aug. 2, at 9 p.m. & 10 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 18, at 1 p.m. & 2 p.m.

Flying Turns: Resurrecting a Legend
Saturday, Aug. 3, at 7 p.m.

American Masters, Ursula K. Le Guin
Saturday, Aug. 3, at 8 p.m.

Remembering Leonard Nimoy
Saturday, Aug. 3, at 9 p.m.

Royal Wives at War
Sunday, Aug. 4, at 1 p.m.

Streit’s: Matzo and the American Dream
Wednesday, Aug. 7, at 9 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 11, at 4 p.m.

Wendell Castle: A Portrait
Wednesday, Aug. 7, at 10 p.m.

Blue Sky Metropolis
Thursdays at 7 p.m. (begins 8/8)
Saturdays at noon (begins 8/10)

10 Parks that Changed America
Friday, Aug. 9, at 7 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 11, at 1 p.m.

American Experience, Rachel Carson
Saturday, Aug. 10, at 2 p.m.

Historic Attucks Theatre: Apollo of the South
Saturday, Aug. 10, at 10:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 13, at 10:30 p.m.

Breakthrough: The Ideas that Changed the World: The Telescope
Wednesday, Aug. 14, at 10 p.m.

From Gershwin to Garland: A Musical Journey with Richard Glazier
Friday, Aug. 16, at 7 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 25, at 4 p.m.

David Bromberg Unsung Treasure
Friday, Aug. 16, at 10 p.m.

American Experience, Command and Control
Saturday, Aug. 17, at 2 p.m.

Family Pictures USA
Saturdays at 7 p.m. (begins 8/17)

Secrets of Scotland Yard
Monday, Aug. 19, at 9 p.m.

From Ragtime to Reel Time: Richard Glazier in Concert
Friday, Aug. 23, at 7 p.m.

Shakespeare Uncovered
Fridays, Aug. 23 & 30, at 9 p.m. & 10 p.m.

The Last Ring Home
Saturday, Aug. 24, at 3 p.m.

Secrets of Highclere Castle
Sunday, Aug. 25, at 3 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 30, at 7 p.m.

Robert Penn Warren: A Vision
Monday, Aug. 26, at 9 p.m.

Daniel Sprick: Pursuit of Truth and Beauty
Tuesday, Aug. 27, at 7 p.m.

Western Reserve Public Media
pbs.org
Copyright© Northeastern Educational Television of Ohio, Inc. All rights reserved.

 

Home Schedule Past Issues Calendar Subscribe PBS History Links