Antarctica: 90 Degrees South Western Reserve Public Media

Lesson Plans

Procedures for Using the Science Lesson Plans


Arctic vs. Antarctic

Food Webs



Cupcake Core Sampling

Wind Chill

Ozone Hole

Plate Tectonics


When you think about penguins, you think about Antarctica and the area around Antarctica. There are more than 17 species of penguins and they all live in the Southern Hemisphere. All penguins are flightless birds that have adapted for life in cold water. Penguins do not fly even though they are birds. They search for food and evade predators by swimming rather than flying. Penguins have dense, solid bones and no air sacs (which reduce body weight to allow birds to fly more easily). Most penguins can be underwater for five to seven minutes.

In Antarctica, the larger species feed primarily on squid and the smaller species feed mostly on krill and fish. All penguins nest in colonies. Most use open nests lined with rocks and pebbles and both the male and female sit on the eggs and feed the young. They are fed by regurgitation and take their food from inside the mouths of the adults.

Find a picture of each type of penguin and at least two facts about them.


Name of Penguin Picture Facts and Characteristics

Adelie Penguin





Emperor Penguin





King Penguin





Macaroni Penguin





Rockhopper Penguin




Chinstrap Penguin






To find pictures and information about penguins, go to

The Wonderful World of Penguins

Antarctic Penguins

Penguins of the Antarctic Region



Copyright©2004, Northeastern Educational Television of Ohio, Inc. All rights reserved.